Chicks on Whatever

It’s weird. Despite caring very much about the issues of female representation in film and lack of female writers in hollywood, I have no interest in girl writer meetups.

One of my usual groups is hosting a writing meetup specifically for female writers. And I have no interest.

I’ve never had good experiences in groups based on gender. Inevitably, it feels like we need to talk about our gender and the experience of being a woman and sexism and all that. I have a friend I met through her feminist blog, and whenever we get together, it feels like we have to talk about feminism and women in TV/film. It’s exhausting!

I mean, I don’t want to be here screaming about shitty female characters. I don’t LOOK for them. I just find them everywhere.

I try to mind my own business, but I can only watch Orange is the New Black so many times before I have to take a chance on something that might be sexist.

Honestly, I just want to watch a movie and NOT think why don’t the female characters do anything? I want to be able to watch The Princess Bride and not wonder why all the interesting characters are dudes. I think it’s a satire. Right? So Buttercup being useless but pretty is the point… maybe? Don’t get me wrong. I still love the movie. But I’d rather not have to question why there are, say, 10 important characters and only two of them are women.

I want to go to REGULAR screenwriting meetups and happen to see women there. I don’t want to go to special women screenwriting meetups.

I don’t really want to talk about writing at all.

Can’t we talk about Death Note or something?

(But, you really can’t talk about Death Note without talking about sexism).

2 thoughts on “Chicks on Whatever

    • I’m not a fan of his winking at the audience style, so I haven’t seen all that much of his work. He does seem very proud of writing “strong female characters,” which is nice, but writing great female characters should be the bare minimum.

      None of his characters talk like real people, so, naturally, the female characters don’t sound like actual women.

      I suppose he’s better than average, but average sets the bar so low…

      I wasn’t impressed by The Avengers. Black Widow is mostly useless and more sexy than anything else. But, to be fair, I turned the movie off around the hour thirty mark cause I had no clue what was going on.

      I guess the short answer is: meh. I feel very meh about him.

Leave a Reply

